12 Sep

12 September 2018

Boosting businesses with the spirit of SA's youth

Cover Image Missing

In 2017, youth unemployment in South Africa reached a 13-year high (Statistics SA). With the recent announcement of South Africa's first technical recession in 9 years, we are using our entrepreneurship programmes such as KickStart Boost to help shape the future for youth looking to support the growth of our country.

Developing greatness

SAB KickStart Boost is one of our entrepreneurship programmes, which propels youth businesses that are running emerging, profitable businesses, looking for tools that will equip them to join a supply chain.

“As an organization, we truly believe in the power of youth as key drivers of our country’s economy,” says Phumzile Chifunyise, Enterprise Development Manager, SAB and AB InBev Africa.

As such, SAB will work closely with the KickStart Boost finalists to find opportunities for them to increase their access to markets and connect with appropriate local stakeholders within their respective communities so that more people adopt their services and support their business growth.

KickStart Boost finalists

As we move closer to Global Entrepreneurship Month in November 2018, we have selected 21 finalists for the SAB KickStart Boost programme to support and develop their businesses.

These 21 finalists will be provided with loan funding to support their individual tailor-made business strategies. These strategies and the loan funding allocated to them have been developed according to a comprehensive needs analysis conducted on their existing businesses, supported by personalised industry mentorship.

Up to 5 of the top entrepreneur finalists will be awarded additional funding. The top entrepreneurs will be selected in November based on a number of criteria:

  • Those who execute their business strategies most effectively.
  • Display financial and market growth.
  • Can demonstrate job creation.

Below are the 21 finalists who were selected from a group of 50 shortlisted visionaries. A big congratulations to these ambitious minds who are chasing the South African dream of a bright and inclusive future.

Andile Mnisi
Green Output Solutions
Midrand
andile@greenoutput.co.za

Andre Paulsen
Vukela Logistics
Cape Town
vukela.log@gmail.com

Andre Williams
AW Engineering
Cape Town
Awengineering17@gmail.com

Ebenezer Smith
Profecia IT
Port Elizabeth
eben@profeciait.co.za

Gabisile Mashilwana
Excserpro
Evander
info@excserpro.co.za

Kevin Munsamy
KCM Environmental Services
Durban
kevin@kcmenviro.co.za

Kgolane Jack Moruthane
Flight Mode Productions
Pimville
vividaeclips@outlook.com / jack@flightmode.pro

Mandla Mlandeni
Ohambo Oluhle Transport & Projects
Mamelodi East
mandlamlandeni@gmail.com

Mpho Kgoale
Twaing Trading
Ga Sekororo
mmkgoa@gmail.com

Ndaelo Moses Tshikovhi
Third Century Computing
Thohoyandau
ndaelo@tccit.co.za

Nicole Sithole
Organic Deli Fresh Pasta
Durban
nicolesithole@gmail.com

Nthabiseng Bonita Mosesane
Areye Projects
Rustenburg
areye@vodamail.co.za

Siyanda Luthuli
Spectra Flow
Durban
siyaluthuli28@gmail.com

Siyasanga Ngcongca
Ngcongca Building Consulting
Cape Town
Sngcongca@ngcbuildingconsulting.co.za

Tefo Motsage
LHP Detergents
Kimberley
gtmotsage737@gmail.com

Thabang Mofokeng
SAMAC Engineering Solutions
Durban
mswana@samac.co.za

Thabisile Hlongwane
Isibusiso Holdings
Bloemfontein
isibusisoholdings@gmail.com

Thozama Hopa
Zito Aluminium and Glass,
Mdantsane East London
zitoaluminiums@gmail.com

Violet Thotoane Lupuwana
Chumile Transport Services
Gauteng and Eastern Cape
violet@chumile.co.za

Zinhle Khumalo
Ikhethelo Textiles
Umlazi
mshenguzinhle@gmail.com

Zodwa Mlangeni
Mementoes Trading
Witbank
mzmlangeni@gmail.com

SAB KickStart and its programmes SAB KickStart Boost and SAB KickStart Ignite are among several entrepreneurship development programmes developed by SAB. Collectively, through these programmes, SAB and AB InBev aims to create 10 000 jobs in South Africa by 2022.